Being Fed

It seems that we have an unwelcome Christmas tradition in our family.  Someone gets sick on Christmas.  Usually, it’s my oldest.  This year, we waited with much anticipation and breath holding.  As Christmas loomed closer, we thought we were off the hook.  But then, just because it’s tradition I guess, my littlest came down with something.

Staying ever optimistic, we managed to get through just fine.  Christmas was the usual blessed and wonderful celebration of Christ’s birth, complete with giving, gathering, and love.

My littlest is still not quite well.  And today, as I was feeding her a few bites of eggs (not because she is too ill to feed herself, but rather because she is little and needs coddling from her mama) I had a memory of a time when I had to be fed.  I remembered a time when my husband fed me after the birth of one of our children.  I thought of how loving, caring, and compassionate the experience was.  I also recalled the odd feeling of having hands too full to be able to feed myself, yet being too hungry to wait to do it on my own.  I remembered the odd mix of great gratitude and a little frustration at the imperfection in the experience.  …Thankful that my husband loved me enough to help me, yet realizing he didn’t do it “perfectly” and that I’d rather feed myself—after all, only I know when the next bite should come, how much food should be on each forkful, what type of food should be on that forkful, and when to take a break for longer chewing or to get a drink of water.

My daughter today must have felt a bit the same way.  A few times she had to warn me, “Not yet, Mama”, or “That bite’s too big”.  I even got a, “No thanks, I need a drink”.

Suddenly it struck me that feeding is just what our Heavenly Father does for us.  He feeds us out of His storehouses of great spiritual richness.  Differently from how humans feed one another,  He always knows exactly what type of food we need, when we need it, when we need to chew on it a while, and when we’re ready to move on to the next dish or course.  He also knows to continue to offer it to us, in His perfect timing, if we are resistant or need a second helping.  He is always prepared to feed us and His food never runs out.  Unlike my imperfect feeding, God’s mealtime is always perfectly nourishing and fulfilling.  How thankful I am for that!

Thank you Lord– that I always have a place at your table eating exactly what and when I need to, from your abundant, loving hand!

            “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.”  (Matthew 5:6 ESV)

 

            “My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips”  (Psalm 63:5 ESV)

 

            “Do not work for the food that perishes, but for the food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give to you.”    (John 6:27 ESV)

           “Jesus then said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, it was not Moses who gave you the bread from heaven, but my Father gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is he who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.” They said to him, “Sir, give us this bread always.  Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.”  (John 6:32-35 ESV)

Ali

3 thoughts on “Being Fed

  1. How encouraging to reflect on… “He always knows exactly what type of food we need, when we need it, when we need to chew on it a while, and when we’re ready to move on to the next dish or course.” I sometimes feel whiny about what He feeds me, but He really does know, doesn’t He? I always feel chagrined later.

Leave a Reply

