Look to Him…

 

 

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.”  (Psalm 139:105 KJV)

”Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me.”  (Psa 51:10 NASB)

 

            …the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.  (1 Peter 5:10 ESV)

 

A steadfast spirit… A spirit that is rooted and perseverant… A spirit that is restored, confirmed by God, and strengthened…. Devoted… planted firmly, unwaveringly on Jesus Christ.

Look to Him in 2013.

His light will always shine on your path if you ask Him and pursue Him.  He will create your new heart and steadfast spirit.  He will restore you, confirm you, strengthen you, and establish you.  He will.

As many of you, I am making new goals for the new year.  I’m not one to make unattainable goals, and I’m a bit practical when it comes to following them…  I like to have a plan.

One of my goals is to reread through the entire Bible.  So, after prayer, thought, and research, I’ve found a Bible reading plan that looks like it will work for me.  If I am successful, I’ll read through the New Testament four times, Proverbs four times, Psalms twice, and the Old Testament one time (not in that order).  I’m excited.  God’s word is such an incredibly rich feast and I’m excited to dine with Him each day!

In 2012, I followed the “Read Through the Bible in 90 Days” plan.  It was quite a commitment to daily reading.  I was so pleased and rewarded by it, though.  It was actually pretty amazing, because two days after I made the commitment to follow the plan, I had an Achilles tendon injury that excluded many of my normal activities.  God knew I’d need something to do in my downtime and, in advance, He provided me with an activity that rewarded me much more than I could have ever dreamed!

Immersing myself in God’s word for such a length of time each day was quite strenuous.  Each day’s reading took me about an hour to an hour and a half, give or take, and was often split into two or three time sessions.  I’m so thankful for how the Lord used my time devoted to Him to grow me, challenge me, convict me, and to develop my perseverance, patience, and diligence.

I’m excited to see what He has in store for me in 2013.

I’ll be looking to Him.

Look with me, why don’t you?

 

 

Ali

One thought on “Look to Him…

  1. I have often considered the Bible in 90 Days project, and every time I have not done it… it is the “strenuous” bit I fear, to my shame and loss. How wonderful that you chose to go forward and the way was made for you!

Leave a Reply

