Sniffing for Gravy

My dog and I have a few things in common.  We are the only two redheads in our family, and we both have freckles and brown eyes.  The appearance similarities stop there, but she and I also relish in affection and both of us really love good food.

Yesterday, as I was feeding her breakfast I noticed another similarity, and felt a good measure of conviction.  See, I usually add warm water to her breakfast and stir it until her kibble has a nice coating of gravy.  I was in a hurry yesterday and didn’t take the extra time to do that for her.  She’s a bit spoiled, as I probably am, too, so she did not appreciate the fact that I’d left off her usual addition of gravy.

As I put the bowl on the porch for,  her she leaned down and sniffed her meal.  Then, with her soft brown eyes she looked at me, wagged her tail, sniffed the bowl, and then looked at me again.  Imploringly she asked, “Where’s my gravy?”  I could read her thoughts just as well as if she were able to suddenly speak English and tell me in her own words.

Where’s my gravy?

I laughed at her sweetness, patted her head, scratched behind her ears, and explained that she was getting a perfectly nutritious meal given with lots of love and care.  The gravy is just extra and unnecessary.  It’s just…gravy.

That’s when I realized it; I probably do the same thing to my Master. …Sniffing for the gravy, that is.  How often does the Lord give me exactly what I need, exactly what’s best for me, and I just sniff for the gravy?  How many times do I forget to be thankful because I’m looking for more than what I’m given, or looking for luxury when I’m given necessity?

“Give us this day our daily bread.”   –Matt 6:11  KJV

“Not that I speak with want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am in.  I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity;  in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need.  I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”   –Phil 4:11-13  NASB

“My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips.”   –Psalm 63:5

Prayer:  Father, help me today to be truly thankful, perfectly content, and fully satisfied with all that you’ve given, all that you are, and with how you will always meet my every need.

Ali

2 thoughts on “Sniffing for Gravy

Leave a Reply

