Faithful in the Details

Photo by Heartfelt Reflections.  All rights reserved.

Photo by Heartfelt Reflections. All rights reserved.

 

Tatting is delicate, detailed work made of knots.  I’m not always faithful to finish what I start in a timely way. Sometimes,  I even seem to tangle things up and make messes.  Albeit rarely, rather than painstakingly picking out each individual knot, I abandon the project altogether.

I’m so glad that God isn’t like that with me!

God constantly amazes me.  He never ceases… He is faithful in the big things, and He is equally as attentive to the seemingly insignificant details.   Both demonstrations of His love and care awe and humble me.  No problem is too difficult for Him.

Recently I had a very minor dilemma.  I wanted to attend Bible study but didn’t feel comfortable driving.  I hated to ask the drivers in my home to take me because of the inconvenience it imposed on them.  The study ends just past our bedtime.  In the past, my family never seemed to mind making the small sacrifice of adjusting their schedules so they could drop me off and pick me up.  I knew this time would be no different, but  I just felt like a burden.  Some of that feeling was probably pure unselfishness, and some may have been pride.

Feelings of frustration and a sense of defeat filled me.  And then I offered a quick, silent prayer for God’s wisdom…

So, just a few minutes later and about 20 minutes before I’d need to head out the door, I received a phone call from a very dear friend and faithful follower of Christ.

Right off the bat, the sweet voice on the other end of the line asked, “Do you need a ride to Bible study?”

My jaw dropped and I literally had to catch my breath.  As if testing the waters, my response was, “What makes you ask that question?!”

Her reply was, “Well…it was God.”

Well, yes, it was.

How amazing that the very same God that holds the entire Universe in His hands cares about whether or not I need a ride to Bible study.  How humbling and touching is His tender love that cares about my feelings of burdening someone else, deals patiently with my pride, and so provides a way even when I don’t see one.  How beautiful is He who holds all of the answers and is faithful to me in the big things, and in the most minute of details.

He is awesome.

He is loving.

He is wise.

He is faithful.

He is!

“Your lovingkindness, O LORD, extends to the heavens, Your faithfulness reaches to the skies.”  (Psa 36:5 NASB)

“Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”  (Lam 3:22-23 NIV)

How has He reminded you of His detailed faithfulness?

Ali

2 thoughts on “Faithful in the Details

Leave a Reply

