Learning More… of Faith and Hope, part 2

…And yesterday’s lessons continued into today.  So, God wasn’t done cleaning that glass I mentioned…  He still wants me to see things a bit crisper yet.

I’m participating in a Bible study with my Hello Mornings Challenge (see the sidebar for details if you’re interested).  This morning, I was focusing on these words of the prophet Jeremiah:

“This I recall to my mind, 

Therefore I have hope,

The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,

For His compassions never fail.

They are new every morning;

Great is your faithfulness.

The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,

“Therefore, I have hope in Him.”

Lam 3:21-24 (NASB)

God never ceases to amaze and awe me!  Here, as I’m delving deeper into the topics of faith and hope, he reminds me that “MY” faith centers around (ready for this?) *His character*.  In the middle of this big circle of faith, belief, and hope, He sits on His throne in His rightful place as King.  And we should just focus on who He is…

As we dwell on His character (his lovingkindness, his compassion, his mercy, his provision, his faithfulness, and so on), our hope grows.  And since faith is the “confidence of our hope” (Heb 11:1), it is only natural that as our hope grows, our faith is perfected.

So, growing my faith comes by focusing on His character.

Do you make time to sit in His presence and dwell on His character?

Ali


One thought on “Learning More… of Faith and Hope, part 2

Leave a Reply

