Glory and Blessing…

God seems to lay several things on my heart at once.  Things that need work in my spirit.  Someday, perhaps He’ll lay on one thing at a time.  Apparently, I’m not to that point yet.  I have a lot of growing to do and the days are so short…  Sigh.

Lately, He’s impressed on me His desire for me to bring Him glory and to bless Him.

…And the funny thing is, I desire to bring Him glory!  I desire to bless Him, too!

It’s all like a beautiful dance — a Father-child dance.  The Father, taking the lead, wants to dance with me, and I want to spin and twirl in His arms.  He wants to hold me close, and I leap forward to love Him.  He wants to be glorified and honored for all His righteous perfection, and I want to sway over to the shadows while the spotlight is on Him.  And then, when the dance is over, I applaud and praise Him for the beautiful and majestic way He led me through our steps.

Glory and blessing.

 

“Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness.”  (Psa 29:2, ESV)

“Blessed be his glorious name forever; may the whole earth be filled with his glory! Amen and Amen!”  (Psa 72:19, ESV)

So, how can I bring glory to the One who is already glorious?  I believe the Bible teaches that this is what our lives on Earth are all about.  (See 1 Cor 10:31 for one quick example of why I believe this.)  And a few ways I can bring Him glory is through my obedience, my praise, and simply by not stealing His glory by ascribing it to someone else,  myself, or no one at all.  Acknowledging and giving Him all the glory, always, that is rightly His anyway, is an excellent way to further glorify the Lord.  It seems like a such a “no-brainer”, but it unfortunately can be so easily forgotten in certain circumstances– like grief, duress, or even excitement.

And ascribing to God all of His rightful glory is an excellent way to bless the Lord.  How beautiful and precious is our Jealous God who wants our every moment of life to be spent glorifying and blessing Him!

But again, how?  How can I bless the Lord?  It seems backward in a way, doesn’t it?  Usually we think of the superior blessing the inferior and not the other way around.

Easton’s Bible Dictionary explains it this way:

  • It is also possible for a person to “bless” God.  The terminology arises as a response to the blessings bestowed by God:  “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits” (Psalm 103:2; KJV).  These occurrences of “bless” are usually translated “praise” or “extol” in modern versions.

So blessing God is praising Him and extolling Him.  Ahhhhh… this I can do!

  “I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.”  (Psa 34:1, KJV)

   “Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears our burden, The God who is our salvation. Selah”  (Psa 68:19, NASB)

So my prayer for you, and for me, is that we would experience rich blessings as we glorify and bless our magnificent God!

What has He laid on your heart?

Ali

4 thoughts on “Glory and Blessing…

  1. Oh so beautiful, Ali, and thank you for the great way you explained how we are to glorify and bless Him. 🙂 Just the other day, He talked to me about being a child . . .having that child-like faith and trust and no worries or cares. God bless you and all He brings to you!

  2. It’s important that we NEVER forget to “Give Him all praise and glory” – and NOT to just do it with our lips, but with our heart and soul. Things we sometimes say are not nearly as important as the things that we daily DO! We also need to be sure to give him raise and give Him glory when things appear that they are all working against us…we do not know the mind and will of God – some of the worst things that could happen to us bring us more joy and strength at some later time in our lives. Or, another way to say this is….”It’s all good!” .

  3. Absolutely! The *never* forgetting part is much easier said than done, of course, but this should be our goal. And yes… “…All things work together for good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose.” Rom 8:28 🙂

Leave a Reply

