Strengthening the Inner Man

Eph 3:14-21

Eph 3:16, Heartfelt Reflections, 2013, all rights reserved

Eph 3:16, Heartfelt Reflections, 2013, all rights reserved

This week has been tough.

It’s also been absolutely wonderful.

Ever had a week like that?

My family is experiencing the long awaited joy of having a relative as a house guest and it’s such a true blessing and joy to have him here! We are thanking God for all the wonderful things He’s doing for our loved one!  And as you may know, having another person in the home (that everyone is so excited about visiting with) can mean laaaate nights…

But, morning still comes early.  Work must be done and life must continue on…

So, we’ve all been a bit tired.  The week has had it’s own plentiful stresses (some usual and some unusual) completely unrelated to the visit, and we’re all looking forward to a relaxing weekend.

I think that’s why this week a verse just kept jumping out at me in Ephesians three.  I’m studying through the Glorious Grace Bible study with HelloMornings and we’ve been sitting in Ephesians 3:14-21 all week.

Verse 16 has called to me all week long…

“I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit.” (NLT)

Inner strength… Strength to keep going and keep serving when you’re sleepy.  Strength to be patient with your little ones who are nagging over something non-urgent.  Strength to be quiet when you want to speak.  Strength to keep calm when anger bubbles.  Strength to rise again, earlier the next morning because you need alone time with God.  Strength to get up again if you fall… when you fail.

And so often, as human beings with a sinful nature, we fall and fail.  My eyes bulged in shock and traces of humor when I read the Pulpit Commentary on this verse…

  • “The inner man is the seat of influence, but with us it is the scat of spiritual feebleness. Most men may contrive to order their outward conduct suitably; but who has control of the inner man? Faith, trust, humility, love, patience, and the like graces which belong to the inner man, are what we are weakest in, and what we have least power to make strong. In this very region it is sought that the Ephesians might be strengthened with might by the Spirit. The gift of the Spirit is available for this very purpose for all that ask him.

Wow!  Our inner man is really just the scat of spiritual feebleness… without the gift of the Spirit to strengthen us.  Did your eyes bulge in shock at that honesty like mine did?  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to view the weakness of my “inner man” in the same way after reading that.  There’s certainly no way to dress that truth up or make it look more serviceable.  …Scat.  Yup.

It may seem silly to seek strength for trivial things.  But, this is what it’s all about, isn’t it?  It’s about living our faith every. single. moment.

So, this week, I’ve asked for strength.  And God was faithful… (of course!)  And I have felt my inner man being strengthened, over and over, and over again.  And looking back on the week, I have not one thing to complain about— really, it’s all been joy!  God, through His glorious, unlimited resources has empowered me with inner strength through His Spirit.

And that prayer, that promise of availability, isn’t for me only… It’s also for you.

What do you need inner strength to face?

Ali

(This post is a part of a series entitled Glorious Grace Fridays: On Fridays (all or some) I’ll be sharing what God’s laying on my heart through the Bible study Glorious Grace that I’m doing with the Hello Mornings ministry. Read why I can say “Hello, Morning!”, here.  I’m  linking up this post here at the HelloMornings blog. Also linking with MissionalWomen.com here.)

4 thoughts on “Strengthening the Inner Man

  1. Hi Ali! I’m visiting from HelloMornings linkup and so glad I did! I loved what you shared on this scripture! I loved the reminder to seek His strength every. single. moment as we live out our faith. Bless you for sharing your week and how He has been faithful.

Leave a Reply

