From the Heart

Eph 6:1-9  From the Heart

Do you ever have one of those moments, when you’re reading Scripture, that you feel so convicted yet so encouraged by the words in front of you?  Like they were meant just for you where you are right now?

That’s how this week has gone for me.

I’ve mentioned several times lately that God is continually giving me opportunities to serve others.  And I do love serving, but sometimes I get tired… Obviously, He’s working on me.  …Sanctifying me ever more through the continual process of removing my eyes from their inwardness and turning them outward.  To others.  To Him.

So this week, studying Ephesians 6:1-9 two phrases popped right out at me.  They didn’t just pull at my heart, they yanked!  A little bit of an ouch moment…

“Don’t work only while being watched, in order to please men, but as slaves of Christ, do God’s will from your heart. Serve with a good attitude, as to the Lord and not to men…” (Eph 6:6, 7 HCSB)

Wow!

As a mother, I desire for my children to obey me and work with a good attitude.  It blesses me to see them do this, and I know it blesses (or will bless) them even if they don’t realize it at the moment.  Learning to serve joyfully blesses the service giver as well as the receiver.

Our Heavenly Father wants us, as His children, to serve one another with the right attitude.  He wants us to do His will from the heart and with a good attitude.  Serving is all about the heart!  It’s not just about getting things done and checking things off the list.  God is not interested in robotic, obedience that is apathetic or, worse yet, bitter!  He is interested in the hearts of mankind.

So, as I serve, I’m trying to create a mental image of me serving “as to the Lord“.  When I am tired of scrubbing toilets, folding laundry, dusting furniture, dropping off and picking up children, and so on, I have to stop and do a heart check.

“Create in my a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me!” (Psa 51:10, NASB)

I have to stop any grumblings going on in my head and count my blessings.  Being thankful is a powerful antidote.  And I have to refocus my vision on Christ, who sees and will reward me for serving joyfully with the right attitude.

  “…whatever good anyone does, this he will receive back from the Lord,” (Eph. 6:8 ESV)

How has God given you opportunities to serve others from the heart?

What does serving “as to the Lord” look like to you?

Be blessed as you serve others today!

Ali

(This post is a part of a series entitled Glorious Grace Fridays: On Fridays (all or some) I’ll be sharing what God’s laying on my heart through the Bible study Glorious Grace that I’m doing with the Hello Mornings ministry. Read why I can say “Hello, Morning!”, here.  I’m  linking up this post here at the HelloMornings blog. Also linking with MissionalWomen.com here.)

6 thoughts on “From the Heart

  1. Oh sweet friend… I miss you. I have been feeling homesick for you this past week. I don’t even know if that makes sense, but it is how I have been feeling. I am so grateful for email, and other means to keep connected, but I long for another face to face chat with you, beautiful friend.

    Your thoughts today cut right to my heart. Thank you for being so honest about what you are learning and feeling. It is hard work trying to die to our old nature… isn’t it?

    • You are so right– dying to self is never easy! But the results are always blessed… And I miss you, too!! :). I’d love another face to face chat, as well!!! And to hear your beautiful voice and music! Prayers for great blessings for you and yours, Meredith! 😉

  2. I am so glad I was linked up after you over at Missional Women because I am doing the HMC as well. I have so enjoyed this study in Ephesians. I read this passage in the NET today, and this one phrase in vs 7 jumped off the page as my application for the week: “Obey with enthusiasm.”

    • Yay! Another “Mornings” girl! :). And I love what you shared from the NET Bible– work with enthusiasm. Not always easy, but always rewarding… 😉 Thanks so much for stopping by. I need to head over and check out your blog! God bless!

  3. Serving as unto the Lord is definitely a daily challenge that i aspire to accomplish – in the household tasks and with people i come in contact with. Its me believing that even if i devalue my work and if even others do sometimes, God never devalues it. He ascribes value to me and the things I do with a heart for HIm. The key for me is relying on the Power of His Spirit

Leave a Reply

