God’s Might and Armor

I don’t feel very mighty.  

photo credit: “Roman Soldiers” by John Burke

And the reality is that I’m not.  But the good thing is that I really don’t have to be; I just need to know where to access might.  

This week in the Glorious Grace Ephesians study with HelloMornings we focused on Eph 6:10-23.  Several things popped out at me, but nothing as big as two little words in verse 10.

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might.” (Eph 6:10 ESV)

The last two words blared at me like a foghorn.  Funny how sometimes things pop out when I write (any other writers experience this?)…  I didn’t plan on comparing words to a foghorn, but that’s how it was.  I’ve been in a little bit of a fog lately…  Stressors from various angles have been rolling in like fog across the ocean.  Just as I’d be startled at the blow of a horn, those two words grabbed me and reset my focus. He provided them at just the right time… as is His usual way!  

His might.  

It’s not by my might… I don’t have to face foes and enemies of any sort all on my own.  He has given me the availability of every bit of armor I need through the power of His might.  He can help me stand, put on the belt of truth, breastplate of righteousness, the shoes of the gospel, the shield of faith, the helmet of salvation,  and He can help me wield the weighty, powerful sword that is His Word.

It’s all His armor that He lets me wear.  

As I’ve been thinking about armor this week, I was reminded about another story of armor in the Bible.  

“Then Saul had his own military clothes put on David. He put a bronze helmet on David’s head and had him put on armor. David strapped his sword on over the military clothes and tried to walk, but he was not used to them. “I can’t walk in these,” David said to Saul, “I’m not used to them.” So David took them off. Instead, he took his staff in his hand and chose five smooth stones from the wadi and put them in the pouch, in his shepherd’s bag. Then, with his sling in his hand, he approached the Philistine.  David said to the Philistine: “You come against me with a dagger, spear, and sword, but I come against you in the name of Yahweh of Hosts, the God of Israel’s armies—you have defied Him.”  (1 Sam 17:38-40, 45 HCSB)

 As this story came to mind I realized a few things… 

  • David wasn’t strong when he wasn’t wearing the right type of armor
  • David was strong when he fought with faith in God
  • It doesn’t matter how good the armor looks if it’s not the armor of God 

If I put on the wrong armor, I’m like David who couldn’t even walk when Saul’s armor was placed on him.  I, too, become burdened and ineffective.  When I put on the helmet of worry, shoes of timidity, a shield of fear, a belt of believing lies, or anything similar, then I am not protected because I don’t have on God’s armor!  And, if I put on the whole armor of God, then I have no available place to wear that weak, ungodly armor that crafty Satan can penetrate.

So, as I wrap up the study on Ephesians, I’m encouraged to know that God absolutely provides the right type of armor for us to face our enemy and quench the fiery darts hurled our way!  Armor that always fits, is always effective, that is truly strong by His might.  Yes, it’s by His might that we will stand!  That is grace!  Glorious Grace!

How has God shown you His might?  Are you wearing the right armor?

Ali

(This post is a part of a series entitled Glorious Grace Fridays: On Fridays (all or some) I’ll be sharing what God’s laying on my heart through the Bible study Glorious Grace that I’m doing with the Hello Mornings ministry. Read why I can say “Hello, Morning!”, here.  I’m  linking up this post here at the HelloMornings blog. Also linking with MissionalWomen.com here.)

4 thoughts on “God’s Might and Armor

  1. Yes and Amen – “we just need to access His might!”. Ali, its been so great reading and learning from what God has been teaching you through His Word as we’ve studied the book of Ephesians. You are such a blessing!

Leave a Reply

