Taste and See… {repost}

By Editor at Large (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons By Editor at Large (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons

//I originally posted this in November of ’12.  I recently revived the post and added my Ginger Snap recipe at the end as a little Christmas gift to you!  I was given the recipe by a dear friend and it’s the best Ginger Snap recipe I’ve come across yet!!//

I love gingersnaps!   …Warm spiciness and depth of flavor mixed with sugary sweetness… oh my!

While I was baking yesterday, I remembered my recent and oft-renewed decision to try to be a little healthier. So, I substituted whole-wheat flour for half of the flour in my recipe. The result? Heavenly, delicious cookies with an absolutely imperceptible healthy substitution.

Our home is often the meeting place for several neighborhood children.  So, I try to keep snacks or baked goods on hand in case they need a little afternoon treat. Yesterday, it was warm, fresh gingersnaps and I’m happy to report that all of the kids loved them. I didn’t even think about it yesterday, but today I realized that not one of the children (mine included) noticed that they were eating a healthier version of that classic fall cookie.

For some reason, as I was thinking about it this morning, God brought to mind John 1:11:

“He was in the world, and the world was made through him, yet the world did not know him.” (ESV)

I smiled as I realized that if the kids had known that something healthy was in my cookies they might not have given them a fair chance. They were unsuspecting and had their guard down, which in my case worked. In the case of these cookies, they didn’t see what was good for them, but took it in eagerly — craving more.

But then my smile faded as I realized this was similar, and yet polar opposite , to how the world reacted to Jesus. The people of the world were unsuspecting and unguarded and because of this they didn’t recognize their very own Creator.  Truth told by John,  heartrendingly, it didn’t work out well for a lot of people. Some people came to follow Jesus and learn of His goodness, but others never gave Him a “fair chance” even after they heard His teaching and saw His miracles.  They saw Something Good, but without a personal experience of tasting that Heavenly Manna for themselves, they turned away… completely rejecting their very own Creator and Savior.

After dwelling on this for a while, God then brought to mind:

“Taste and see that the Lord is good.” (Psa 34:8a)

Just as the neighborhood children had to taste their fresh gingersnaps first to then determine the cookies’ goodness, so must we get a true taste of Jesus… and when we do, we will taste His goodness, His love, His grace, His forgiveness, His redemption…. and be richly satisfied.

And Jesus is so much more delicious than any little cookie could ever be!

“My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips.” (Psalm 63:5, ESV)

So, in the midst of this Advent season and setting your focus on Christ, I pray that your soul will be filled and satisfied deeply with all the richness that Jesus has to offer!

Ginger Snaps

  • ¾ C shortening
  • 1 C white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ C molasses
  • 2 C flour  {1 c unbleached, 1 C whole wheat}
  • 1 tsp. Baking soda
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ginger
  • Few tablespoons of sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 375.

Cream together the sugar and shortening.  Beat in egg.  Add molasses and pre-sifted dry ingredients.  Roll into 1” balls, and then roll balls in sugar.  Flatten slightly with the bottom of a glass.  Bake for 15 to 18 minutes for a good “snap”.  {I love mine on the softer side and only bake 9 to 10 minutes.}   Recipe makes about three dozen cookies and is easily doubled.  Enjoy!!

How has Jesus revealed Himself to you lately?  How has He satisfied your soul with His sweetness?

Ali

 

2 thoughts on “Taste and See… {repost}

Leave a Reply

