Transitions… {A New Year’s Post and Ramblings}

I’m ready for the New Year!

This past year has been something.  Like probably every one else on the planet, my year has been filled with a wide variety of experiences… immense joy, unspeakable pain, frustrating struggles, surprising uneasiness, disappointing fears, precious laughter, and both the pleasure and sorrow of learning new life lessons.  Quite a roller coaster!  (And, may I add, God has consistently and powerfully demonstrated His awesome love and unmerited grace time and time again!)

I’m sure most of you can totally identify.

Now, I’m ready for a transition… I feel ready for newness and a fresh slate.  It would probably be pretty safe to say that 2014 will include some of the very same feelings that encompassed 2013, but without a trace of pessimism, I’m so ready!  I’m ready to kiss farewell to some of the dilemmas I’ve encountered this year and  I’m ready to take all the good and encourage it to grow.  Like little seedlings, I’ll abide in Jesus to foster the lessons I’ve learned so that they can grow into beautiful, fruitful trees… bearing more and more fruit.  For Him.  For His glory.   Most of all, I’m hopeful and expectant that the New Year will bring me even closer to my Savior.  To abide in Him and have complete joy.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love.  These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.” ( John 15: 5, 10, 11, ESV)

I’ve been asked about New Year’s resolutions… and I’ve heard talk about making plans and setting goals.

I don’t usually make “resolutions”, but I do try to set a few loose goals for the upcoming year.

Because I truly believe that the Bible is God’s Holy Word and is full of the words of salvation, life, light, wisdom, and direction, most of my goals center around being IN His Word… and with God… every day.  …With the ultimate someday-goal of having my life centered around Him every moment.

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.”  Psa 119:105, KJV

Here are a few of my goals for 2014:

  • Use daily readings to read through the entire Bible again  (I use the YouVersion app to help me accomplish this.)
  • Study the Bible daily (Using my small group material and doing personal studies.)
  • Continue prioritizing my morning quiet and prayer times with God (HelloMornings is a valuable resource for this!)
  • Write more… and write another Bible study (And figure out how to give one away to my blog readers!)
  • Continue to work on letting go of perfectionism, frustration, and fear (as I rest in His perfection and protection!)
  • Learn more of the techy stuff behind blogging so I can give my readers more (Printables, studies, etc.)

Well… now for some reason I feel a little vulnerable.  🙂  Transitions almost always make me feel a little unsure… like a lost child in a big, big room.  But, I have a reason for feeling ready and excited about moving seamlessly into 2014!

“It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” (Deut 31:8, ESV)

Are you also ready for a transition?  Why?

What are some of your goals for 2014?

Blessings in Christ, and Happy New Year!

Ali

3 thoughts on “Transitions… {A New Year’s Post and Ramblings}

  1. I, too, am ready for a transition and look forward to what the Lord has in store for me in 2014. May your year be abundantly blessed as you draw closer to Him!

Leave a Reply

