The Presence of God – Calm in the Storm

 

God is ever with us.

Sometimes it’s so easy to focus on the problems of life. No one is exempt from its dilemmas. The temporal things of our existence can take the utmost priority as, like Peter, we dwell on the wind around us and then take our eyes off of the Creator of that wind.

 “But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.” (Matt 14:30, ESV)

We all do it. Even the most faithful, spiritually mature Christians I know have moments of weakness. I’m not talking at all about disbelief in who God is. I just mean moments where our faith should have been strong enough to keep our eyes focused on Christ, above the storm around us, rather than looking at the mess and feeling overwhelmed.

But, just as Peter remembered that Jesus could either stop the storm, or save Him from sinking, or both, we too can cry out, “Lord, save me” and be equally confident of receiving an answer.

He will hear. He will answer.

The Presence of God -- Calm in the Storm at www.heartfeltreflections.wordpress.com

I came across a beautiful verse in Isa 63 during my morning quiet time a few days ago. God has been reminding me that no matter what storm I walk through (and praise the Lord, I haven’t been walking through any rough storms lately), God is ever with me.

And it’s on my heart to remind you of that today, too.

“In all their affliction he was afflicted, and the angel of his presence saved them; in his love and in his pity he redeemed them; he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old.” (Isa 63:9, ESV)

This verse is from a passage in Isaiah where God’s people are expressing the merciful goodness of the Lord and asking for forgiveness of their sins.

Yes, even as God’s children were afflicted, so was He. And He saved them because of His great, compassionate love for them. They hadn’t done anything worthy of love like that—it’s just His nature to give freely and love unconditionally. Not only did He redeem them, but also He lifted and carried them.

And He doesn’t stop there. He does the same for you and me.

I love these words from Gill’s Exposition on the Entire Bible:

  • “…and so he bears all his people on his heart, and in his hands, and bears them up under all their temptations and afflictions; and, from the time of their conversion, carries on his work in them, and carries them safe to heaven, as the great Captain of their salvation, and never leaves them, nor forsakes them.”

Aren’t you thankful for the God that never leaves us, nor forsakes us?

3“Listen to me, O house of Jacob,

all the remnant of the house of Israel,

who have been borne by me from before your birth,

carried from the womb;

4even to your old age I am he,

and to gray hairs I will carry you.

I have made, and I will bear;

I will carry and will save. (Isa 46:3,4, ESV)

So as the whirlwind of life stirs up a storm, I encourage you, and me, to keep our eyes focused on the One who can conquer the wind and who can calm and refocus the hearts of the distracted. May we be encouraged knowing that our loving Savior will never leave us, nor forsake us!

 “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Deut 31:6, NIV)

How does He remind you to stay focused on Him and rest as He carries you?

Ali

Click to Tweet:

“As the whirlwind of life stirs a storm, keep your eyes on the One who can conquer the wind.”

3 thoughts on “The Presence of God – Calm in the Storm

  1. Thank you, Ali, for encouraging us to stay focused on Him when we are in the storms. I know what you mean . . .it seems like a given, until I am in the midst of something and it becomes all I see! Often at the hardest of times all I can pray is “Jesus”. God bless you!

    • Oh, so true, Debbie! I have prayed that same, One Name prayer! And we are so blessed that He understands our heart’s cries when our words fail us and storms overwhelm, aren’t we? God bless you, too, sweet sister!

  2. Pingback: Depression - Remembering God's Presence

Leave a Reply

