The Importance of Being Still…

So, I took a little break from blogging… It wasn’t a planned event, but there are lots of reasons why I did. What affected my decision most is that there are only 24 hours in a day! (Anyone else feel me?)  There just wasn’t enough time to do all I needed and wanted to do.

I’ve been busy lately. I trust that God has me right where He wants me, and I’m blessed immensely in that I am not only happy with my full schedule, but I also feel refreshed, rested, and satisfied.  But, it’s been during this past month of taking on new ministry roles on the HelloMornings Team, new duties and responsibilities to learn and practice, and more going on with homeschooling, Christmas preparations, (Christmas already?!), and that never-ending laundry pile that I’ve discovered newfound importance in being still.

Be still and know that I am God... Psa 46:10 Read more about The Importance of Being Still at HeartfelReflections.wordpress.com

 

“Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psa 46:10, ESV)

“And he said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while.” For many were coming and going, and they had no leisure even to eat.” (Mark 6:31, ESV)

 

Be Still

Today, my daughter and I took a drive. Well, really it was just commute time to pick up another daughter from class. My little one wanted to listen to music. I wanted quiet. “How about we just roll down the windows and listen to God’s world?”

It was a peaceful, quiet drive through the neighborhood. Birds were singing, the tires lullingly hummed the pavement, and the breeze blew gently. But as soon as I got out on the highway and stepped on the gas, she yelled over the wind and passing cars, “Mommy, God’s world is too loud!”

I rolled up the windows and was hit by her innocent but deep realization. God’s world seems incredibly loud when we’re rushing through it at breakneck speed.  We head out alongside others whom we eventually pass because they’re going too slow, or they whiz by us going even faster.

But, as soon as we step away into stillness, the quiet and peace can be heard and felt. It never left… we were just moving too fast to hear or feel it.

I enjoy looking at various translations of the same verse. Look at “Be still” (Psa 46:10) in these translations:

“Stop your fighting…” (HCSB)
“Let go [of your concerns]…” (God’s Word Translation)
“Cease striving…” (NASB)
“Return…” (Aramaic Bible in Plain English)
“Be in awe…” (ISV)

It’s only when we stop fighting, striving, and when we let go of our concerns and return to Him in awe—when we can slow down—that we can feel the enormity of God’s character. In stillness, we can know Him better.

 

Rabbit Trail: Word Study on “Be Still”

I researched the Hebrew word used in this verse which is most often translated “Be still.” The word is harpu, but it’s only used this once in the entire Bible! Its root, however, is raphah (which means “abate, cease, consume, draw toward evening, fail, be faint, be wax feeble, forsake” according to Strong’s).  If you noticed that raphah looks quite a bit like rapha, as in Jehovah-Rapha, you aren’t alone. Rapha and raphah have different Strong’s numbers, but are related words. Rapha, according to Strong’s means “cure, cause to heal, physician, repair, thoroughly, make whole.”

Is your head spinning like mine was? Lots of similar definitions here and it’s easy to get caught up in detailed word meanings. But, overall, I noted that God tells us to “be still”, or cease, stop striving, allow ourselves to be consumed by Him. And the Hebrew word used for this action we need to take links, of course, right back to Him… the one Great Physician who can repair us, and make us whole- emotionally, spiritually, and even physically.

We need time alone with Him! We need to have quiet and stillness of spirit to hear His voice above the din of the world.

How has God shown you the importance of being still? How have you been successful at quieting your heart and mind?

Ali

Click to tweet this: “In stillness of spirit we can know God better.” #BeStillandKnow @HeartfeltbyAli

Or this: “We need a quiet spirit to hear God’s voice above the din of the world.” #BeStillandKnow @HeartfeltbyAli

{I meant to write a short post on being still, but it’s turned out longer than expected. To save you from my wordiness, I’ve chosen to break it into more than one post. So, stay tuned for more about being still.}

One thought on “The Importance of Being Still…

  1. Pingback: The Importance of Being Still – part 2 | Heartfelt Reflections

Leave a Reply

