Psalm 27 Memory Challenge

Hiding-Psalm-27-in-My-Heart_DoNotDepart

I just wanted to take a quick minute and share a Bible memory challenge with you! Lisa (my fellow team writer) over at DoNotDepart.com has put together another memory challenge!

If you’re interested in Hiding His Word in your heart, you can check out how to register for the challenge HERE.  Registration begins Monday, Nov 3, and the challenge begins Monday, Nov 10.

And why register? Because, Lisa will send you an FAQs email “along with links to all the resources and extra memory tips, sent every two or three weeks throughout the challenge.” There’s even a Facebook group you can join for more encouragement and accountability.

Has it been a while since you’ve memorized Scripture? Or do you do it regularly? Either way, this Psalm is so beautiful and encouraging– definitely a great one to commit to memory! I hope you’ll join in!

And if you’re not sure that memorizing is even for you, I encourage you to read this post about the why’s of memorizing, and dwell on this quotation from John Piper:

The Bible “is the source of life and faith and power and hope and freedom and wisdom and comfort and assurance and victory over our greatest enemy.”

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have such powerful words hidden in your heart and available at any time and in any place?!

I was going to post all fourteen verses of Psalm 27 for you here on my blog, but I’d rather encourage you to get out your Bible and read it that way instead. (Or you can read it online right here.) As much as I love technology, there’s just something about being able to drink the words of The Word in slowly with a Bible on your lap while flipping the thin pages with your fingertips, right?

The LORD is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the stronghold of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid? (Psalm 27:1, ESV)

Happy memorizing!

Ali

Leave a Reply

