Prepare Him Room

I’m sure you know the lyrics to Joy to the World…

Joy to the world, the Lord is come!
Let earth receive her King;
Let every heart prepare Him room,
And Heaven and nature sing.

Again, I love this part:

Let every heart prepare Him room…

Yes, there was no room in the inn… the world did not have room for Him, but our hearts can and do! So, my writing this week and next will be sparse as I make more room in my days for worship and time spent with family and friends celebrating His birth!

I pray you will enjoy your celebrations, too!

And honestly, my heart is a bit heavy and full as I think of loved ones who are hurting physically and emotionally this Christmas. Joy is strange in that we can have true joy even when we aren’t “happy”. If you’re having a hard time this Christmas with suffering, pain, or grief, I pray this for you:

That even though you hurt, that you would know that the joy of the Lord is your strength. (Neh 8:10) It’s all about Jesus! He has come to bring blessing, joy, strength, and to break the curse over mankind as He rules in love, truth, and grace. I pray that you (that we all!) would know Him more intimately and know His strength and joy that has the power to keep us safe under His loving shelter! That though we are weak, He is strong!

No more let sins and sorrows grow
Nor thorns infest the ground
He comes to make
His blessings flow
Far as the curse is found
Far as the curse is found
Far as, far as the curse is found

He rules the world with truth and grace
And makes the nations prove
The glories of His righteousness
And wonders of His love
And wonders of His love
And wonders and wonders of His love.

 

And, just as a little sneak peak for you, I’m very honored to present a little gift to you– a guest post from a friend and author will be coming soon just for you (and I)! I’m excited!

Blessings to you as you “prepare Him room” this Christmas and always!

Ali

 

4 thoughts on “Prepare Him Room

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this. The prayer blessed me so. My son went to be with the Lord in 2011 and this year has been harder than other Christmases. God has ministered to me in many beautiful ways through His Word and other precious believers. My son’s heart is linked with mine separated by the curtain of heaven. I have so much peace and joy in my heart. Even in the tough times God’s love comes and invades the hearts of those who reach out to Him.

    • Oh, I’m so sorry for your loss! But I’m so glad that the Lord has reached out to you and filled you with peace and joy, despite your grief. I love your last sentence, btw!! And I’m honored that you stopped by and let me know that the words and prayer God laid on my heart have been a blessing to you. More and more blessings and prayers for comfort and strength as you celebrate Christmas!

  2. Pingback: The Chesed Love of God… | Heartfelt Reflections

Leave a Reply

