The Chesed Love of God…

I didn’t mean to take all of January off from Heartfelt Reflections. I wanted to make more space in the Christmas season for focusing on Jesus and my family. And I’m so glad God laid that on my heart!

I did that and not only that…  My time was also spent with a family member who was recovering from an unexpected and major, life saving surgery. Later, I had a bout of stresses to conquer.

And through all of that, God’s love was so evident and so strong. His provision has been amazing! I am reminded over and over again of His tender, steadfast, compassionate love.

At DoNotDepart.com (where I am a team writer), I recently wrote of this special love God’s has for us. Here is an excerpt (the link to the full article follows). I pray that you’ll read and be reminded of the depth and magnitude of His love for you!

After all, God is love.

“Yes, God is love and His love is illustrated in every single action toward mankind.

In the last post, we learned about the New Testament Greek word agape. And there’s another word that describes God’s love that’s used about 250 times in the Old Testament. There, the Hebrew word transliterated chesed is used to identify the type of love God has toward us.  God's Chesed... How He Loves

Chesed has no direct translation in English but it’s defined as favor (toward man), lovingkindness, steadfast love, loyalty, and mercy. Chesed  is a love that involves action and great depth. It implies that those in the love relationship belong together. It’s a love that rescues and forgives. It eclipses the noise of the world around us, the noise inside ourselves, and our afflictions. It lifts us up because of its beauty.

It is love that values its prize… And its prize is you!

Are you in need of that kind of love? I know I am!”

Read the entire post right here

And be reminded of this:

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
“The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in him.”

The LORD is good to those who wait for him,
to the soul who seeks him.
It is good that one should wait quietly
for the salvation of the LORD. ~ Lam 3:22-26 (ESV)

 How has God shown you His amazing, steadfast (chesed) love? Has His love ever surprised you? And, aren’t you thankful that you can safely place your trust and hope in the God whose love never wavers?

~Ali

Leave a Reply

