God’s Big, Attentive Love

I have much on my plate.

Can you identify with that?

Understand, I’m not complaining– I LOVE where God has me in life right now. But when one unexpected thing pops up it can (sometimes) just feel like too much.

The faucet leaks and needs to be replaced… at 11pm. And I was going to get to bed early! Oh, and did I order the new checks? The insurance says it won’t cover that. But… it’s supposed to! The little one has allergies… but now it’s an earache, too. Homework was forgotten, laundry pile is stacking, and I forgot to put the pork chops in the crockpot.

Yep… I know you’re probably nodding in agreement right now. We all have times like these. Sometimes it seems like that’s all life is. Just one link on the chain that leads to another… of too muchness.

Oh, but God showed me this morning! He is so big. My friend Patti wrote about His bigness recently and since I read her post, God has continually put the word “big” in front of me. He is reminding me over and over that He is big! And I’m so thankful for His bigness…

God's love is Big and attentive to every detail! Read more at www.heartfeltreflections.wordpress.com

What strikes me specifically about His bigness is His ability to handle small, tiny details in my life. He is not a God so big that His fingers are like giant sausages trying to button baby clothes. He doesn’t fumble. He’s big and dexterous… He’s big, yet He can handle the tiny with ease!

So today, He surprised me with taking care of a detail that was so small in the global scheme of things but was huge to me. He took care of it! Done, checked right off the list… and so I have no worries, no time wasted making phone calls, no building stress, no panic! It’s done and He did it for me!

All because He is attentive. All because He is big.

And he put all things under his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church. (Eph 1:22, ESV)

Yes! All things are under his feet!

  • It does not refer merely to defeated and arrested enemies, but to the whole of creation and the fullness thereof. They are as thoroughly under Christ and at his disposal as if they were literally under his feet. As a military commander, proceeding even through his own country, has power to requisition everything needful for his army, and deal with all property as may be required for military purposes, so Christ has the whole creation at his disposal, animate and inanimate, hostile and friendly. (Pulpit commentary)All things are under His feet… all my worries and stresses. And all of yours, too! He is big and that bigness is for you. That attentive love, mercy, compassion, and grace is for you, too. The whole creation is at his disposal!

And He does more than we could ever ask or think.

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. (Eph 3:20-21, ESV)

And because He loves us, he equips us.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (Phil 4:13)

So, as you are equipped in the strength of Christ, I pray you’ll look for and discover His love for you today! I pray that you’ll remember the words to the hymn “It is No Secret”.

It is no secret what God can do
What He’s done for others He will do for you
With arms wide open He’ll pardon you
It is no secret what God can do

How has God been showing you His big, attentive love lately?

Ali

Leave a Reply

